When Faith Costs…

Posted: October 21, 2008 in Uncategorized

Tim Challies posted the following on his blog about a father who recently lost his daughter.  Here is what he had to say at her funeral:

“When Emily’s death was confirmed on Saturday night, I was shocked and bewildered. All I could pray was, ‘O Lord, Help! Help! Help!’ As I was on my knees, a thought came to me: ‘If all my talk about the Gospel and God’s goodness is not true now, then it was never true.’ That was a great comfort, for I know this great good news is true. I stand with my wife and family in a long line of Christians who have suffered loss yet look ahead to a “city not made with hands” and the fulfillment of God’s promise of eternal life to those who trust Christ. We will see Emily again…But the first face I will see in Heaven will be the face of Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

