Horror Flicks and Sanctification

Posted: January 11, 2009 in Uncategorized

I love horror movies.  I’ve seen hundreds if not thousands of them.  I’ve watched everything from classic black & white monster flicks to gorefests to torturecore to high end suspense/horror like “Silence of the Lambs.”

This week a remake of one of my favorite bad slasher flicks hits theaters.  A remake of “My Bloody Valentine” not only drops on cinemas this week but it drops in 3-D.  Fangoria magazine’s review states that the 3-D is superb!

I’m psyched to see it…but should I be?  Should a follower of Jesus entertain himself by watching a crazed coal miner hack up Hollywood tweens passing for rural hillbillies?

Now, I am not a “hide and fly-away Christian.”  I will be talking this weekend at Revolution about how we need to go into the culture armed with the message of Jesus rather than scurry into a bunker where only Pax and K-Love are allowed.

Yet, a few years ago when torturecore hit its peak with flick like “Hostel” and “Wolf Creek”, I began to lose my stomach for it.  It just felt wrong. 

I still don’t see anything wrong with great horror movies like “Psycho” or even the original “Texas Chainsaw Massacre”, which is actually fairly bloodless, but the whole trend of pushing the envelope may be too much for me…or maybe I’m just getting friggin’ old.

So, I’ll probably see “My Bloody Valentine 3-D” as well as the forthcoming remakes of “Friday the 13th” and “Last House on the Left” but I will be wrestling with it in prayer to see where I should come out on this theologically.

Thoughts?

Comments
  1. Rick Duncan says:

    Matt,

    I’m afraid I can’t offer any guidance about the theology of watching slasher movies. I just think it’s great that one of my favorite preachers reads Fangoria!!

Leave a Reply

