D.A. Carson’s Prayer

Posted: March 10, 2009 in Uncategorized

D.A. Carson recited the following prayer and it struck me as a guy who has had cancer scares and is only a few years away from middle age:

“Save me from the sins of old men”

“Save me from, “A tendency to look backwards and idealize the past.”

“Save me from, “The temptation to resent younger men coming along.”

“Save me from, “Being too quick to turn on the television because I am lonely.”

“Save me from, “Insufficient intercessory prayer for my grandchildren.”

“Save me from, “The willingness to trust the news, instead of the Good News.”

“Save me from the sins of old age.”

I hope and pray that when I am the “old pastor” that  I will treat the young up and coming preacher punks better than many have treated me.  God bless them all.

Leave a Reply

