Favorite Music of 2009 Thus Far…

Posted: July 4, 2009 in Uncategorized

634_2709

Let’s face it, it has not been a great year for music so far.  But lameness has never stopped me from getting my High Fidelity on.  Now most critics place Animal Collective’s Merriweather Post Pavillion at the top of their list but it hasn’t really grown on me yet.  In fact, after the first lesson I was just bored! So, what is worth listening to?

1. Green Day 21st Century Breakdown.  I have found myself listening to this over and over again.  Always the sign of a great album.

2. As Cities Burn Hell or Highwater.  Very different direction for the band.  A little bit of everything (metal, grunge, alt., etc.) and all of it kicks tail.

3. Chickenfoot Chickenfoot.  I thought a band made up of the drummer from Red Hot Chili Peppers, guitar great Joe Satriani and the Van Halen rejects (Sammy Hagar and Michael Anthony) was as ridiculous as the name of the band but the tracks are nothing short of great, straight forward rock n’ roll. Long live the ‘Foot.

4. Superdrag Industry Giants.  Great alt./post-grunge record and clearly demonstrates John Davis’ spiritual growth.  Check out “Filthy & Afraid.”

5. The Chariot Wars and Rumors or Wars.  Just noise or metalcore brilliance.  Decide for yourself but I lean toward the latter.

Honorable mention: the new Killswitch Engage is growing on me, Jars of Clay’s latest (and I’ve never liked Jars of Clay!) and, as pretentious as it is, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix by Phoenix.

Leave a Reply

