Hi, My Name is Matt and I Like Christian Rock…

Posted: August 6, 2009 in Uncategorized

christian-rock

It’s not very cool within emerging church circles to admit that you like a product of the evangelical sub-culture but I really do like Christian rock and metal. 

Now, let me be clear, I’m not talking about the shallow, triumphalistic, “Jesus is my girlfriend” stuff they play on K-Love but music from artists like Demon Hunter, Jonah33, Disciple, etc.

Fortunately for folks like me, 2009 has been a very good year.  There have been excellent releases from Project 86, The Chariot and August Burns Red. Heck, even Stryper released a decent new collection of songs. 

Moreover, if the first few singles are any indication of what is to come then the new stuff from Skillet and Thousand Foot Krutch should be killer.

2009 also promises new releases from Pillar and, possibly, Flyleaf.

So, if, like me, you have a secret stash of sanctified CDs set apart from the alt/indie and classic rock & metal you let everyone see then be sure to check out Christianrock.net for the best stream on the web as well as weekly charts, news and lists of forthcoming releases.

http://www.christianrock.net

Comments
  1. Mike says:

    Fair enough (though with a name like demon hunter I’d be hard-pressed to give them a chance). But why does anyone think they can get away with knocking on so-called ‘Jesus is my girlfriend’ music. Granted, I’m not in your area, so I don’t know K-LOVE, but in my area, that use that slur to refer to any and all worship music that seems remotely ‘intimate’ and personal (ala Redman’s Jesus I Am So In Love With You). Now, I can see where the girlfriend slur kind of works on a cynical social commentary level, but if John’s gospel (or half the paintings on the last supper) have it right, you’d half to knock John the Beloved for actually being Jesus’ girlfriend (in a manner of speaking) or at least reclining on him like one. When I read the account of Jesus’ breakfast on the beach and long walk/talk on the beach with Peter about love, you could almost call it a “dtr moment.” I’ll try the Demon Hunter, as culturally out-of-touch as the name sounds, on your recommendation (cause I like your other posts), but let’s think a little clearer about the so-called Jesus is my Girlfriend subculture. They just might be on to something older & more truly ‘Christian’ than modern Christian music.

    • Revolution says:

      Mike,

      Thanks for the comment.

      First of all, the name “Demon Hunter” = “hunting demons”…get it. The band’s logo is a demon skull with a bullet hole in it and hung on a wall like a trophy. Hey, they’re a metal band! But they’re awesome!

      Second, here’s my problem. A while back a worship leader began posting lyrings on his blog asking people, without googling it, to vote on whether it was a secular song about a girl or a worship song about Jesus. When you get that kind of confusion, there’s a problem in my book!

      One of the reasons the church is almost 60% female is that everything from the look of the building to the language to the songs are really…well…feminine and wimpy!

      I understand and appreciate the language in Scripture re: intimacy but there is SO MUCH MORE…and yet, the overwhelming majority of Christian music refuses to deal with the tough stuff that Scripture tackles because, unfortunately, sweet & sappy sells!

      Anyway, no offense meant. Just venting.

      God bless!

Leave a Reply

