How Seriously Do You Take Your Church’s Children’s Ministry?

Posted: September 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

I am a church planter that has grown to dread the mention of anything associated with children’s ministry. 

I want our volunteers to see the task of children’s ministry as a God honoring activity that demands excellence.  I want them to use Gospel centered curriculum like Desiring God instead of the petty moralistic crud I see in most churches but that’s not the case.

If you think it is tough to preach the Gospel unabashedly every week, try to convince volunteers and parents that it children’s ministry needs to be more than just a lot of fun activities centered around a moralism like “be nice to your sibling” or “listen to mommy and daddy” with little or no mention of grace.  I mean, have you ever sat in on your church’s children’s ministry and notice how “I” centered it is? 

Yet, it is also my fault because I don’t spend enough time with parents and volunteers explaining my position.  I just assume it and you know what happens when you assume.

I am beginning to formulate a 2-week sermon mini-series on the vision and future of the church and I will be spending a portion of those two teachings speaking about the necessity of a Gospel centered children’s curriculum followed by a number of meetings with parents and volunteers.

Its time I (and my fellow pastors) quit complaining about it and take it seriously.

If churches continue to fall back on peppy but moralistic children’s curriculum then don’t be shocked by teenagers and young adults who think of Christianity the same way Karl Marx did, which was, “it’s just a bunch of rules strung together to make others behave.” 

AND if you are a pastor who doesn’t take the time to gracefully explain this then don’t expect your folks to get it or for children’s ministry to do anything but suck the life out of you. 

If you’re in the same position as me then be sure to check out Desiring God’s children site but be warned that if you minister in a place like Appalachia, like I do, then the recommended ages are typically a few years too advanced. 

http://www.childrendesiringgod.org/

Leave a Reply

