A Radical Experiment…At Least For Me!

Posted: December 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

One of my Old Testament professors told me once that I would greatly improve my relationship with God and guard my ministry by going through my house at least once a year, identifying the material object that meant most to me and getting rid of it.  He believed we allow too much stuff to get between us and God.  I think he’s right.

As I reflected on this last year, I tried to identify the thing that stands between Jesus and myself.  A few years ago it was my CD collection, which had grown to over 3000 titles (mainly metal and classic rock including many rarities). I gave them to my wife to sell and let her keep the money.  That was painful.

In the past, I have chucked old comic books that I collected as a kid and expensive bass guitars.  Last year it was a lot of designer clothes (yes, I’m kind of a girl that way…no offense, ladies).  But this year, I really couldn’t identify an object.  Yet, I know that there is still clutter standing in the way of myself and God. 

So, I thought about it and prayed about it and then it hit me.  It’s not really a distinct thing but a lifestyle.  I spend a lot of time and money on myself.  I buy a lot of books, download a lot of songs, go to see a lot of movies, etc.  I decided that I really needed to take a surgical scalpel to the way I spend my time.

So, next year, I pledge not to buy a single book for myself or download a single song for myself or go see a single movie that only I want to see.  That may not sound like much to you but I’ve read 125 books so far this year and all but 5 I purchased myself.  I’ve seen dozens of movies and probably downloaded a dozen albums worth of songs  to listen to in the car or on the treadmill. 

I’ll still read but only what I have, what people give me or what I can pick up at a library.  The same for music.   I won’t go see a single movie that my family doesn’t want to see, which, this year meant only Toy Story 3 and Megamind.  This is huge because I have been a movie buff since I was 13 and even spent two years in Hollywood trying to make it as a director.

I will spend more time in prayer or with my family.  I will take the money I have spent on myself and either pay down student loans (my only debt) or give it to my church or ministries like the Alliance Defense Fund. 

I need to ween myself off of any sense of entitlement whether it be materially or how I spend my time.  I preach that this life is the only opportunity we have to fight for God and that nothing but serving Him matters.  It’s time to practice what I preach. 

Now let me ask you…what stands between you and God?

Comments
  1. Shawn says:

    Ouch! Why couldn’t you have left that last sentence out? Now you have me thinking.

Leave a Reply

