The Blog It Is A Changin’

Posted: March 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

I have been blogging now for 2 years.  I have watched the Pastor Matt blog site grow from hits per day in the teens as it was originally constructed to help connect with Revolution Church’s core group to several hundred hits a day with regular readers spanning the globe.  Moreover, it continues to grow with new regular readers added every week.  That’s truly humbling. 

I feel that I have taken it as far as it will go on a free WordPress format.  I am going to try to take it to the next level.  I have hired a web designer who is in the midst of re-launching the site as pastormattblog.com.  It will be marketed via Facebook and other relevant sites.  I’m truly excited about what lies ahead.

The blog, however, has become a bit of a mixed blessing because I often feel pressure to update it daily even though I have 2 full-time jobs, a family, a book project and several other things on my plate. I am in the process of slimming down my life but it is still a tough slog.  It has become a burden to try to stay up with everything going on in the Christian world including the weekly “must read” or “must listen”, etc. 

So, I’ve decided to change the focus of the blog a bit.

For those who don’t know me well, I have a handful of passions beyond my family, (who have been wonderfully patient with me by the way), and those passions are theology, movies (especially horror movies), books (especially those related to theology, movies or…well…horror) and music (especially heavy metal). 

In fact, when I ran away to Hollywood when I was 16 to try to become a director, I really wanted to direct the next Halloween and be the go-to music video director for bands like Guns N’ Roses, Metallica and Ozzy (I ended up directing one music video for Latin MTV and never wanted to be behind a camera again!).   

Instead of feeling a burden to weigh on each every issue that lights up the blogosphere (even though, I’m sure I won’t always be able to contain myself) I will focus on those passions and little else.

I will still review books, post sermon notes and links to blog posts I find fascinating but the bulk of pastormattblog will focus on theology, horror books & movies, music and how they all relate to one another. 

Moreover, I am in the draft stages of my first book which is tentatively entitled, “Theology & The Zombie Apocalypse.”  Lord willing, once completed, I will also begin writing my first novel, which is, (surprise, surprise) a Christian horror novel that has been rattling around in my mind since I attended my first Bible class at Kentucky Christian University nearly 13 years ago.

In other words, you can look forward to theology, zombies or whatever.

Hope you’ll check back soon and encourage others to do the same.

Grace, peace and may you all happily outlive the zombie apocalypse…whenever it may strike!

Comments
  1. I dig it, Matt!

    I am going through something similar over at my blog. Working hard behind the scenes to create a better focus for myself and creating a blog that both looks better and better meets the needs of my readers.

    I can’t wait to see all of the amazing stuff you post. I hope you know I do not expect you to update daily. A few times (or even just once) a week is more than enough! Even that can be too much at times.

    Even so, I really appreciate your honesty and willingness to be open about the future of the blog. That’s difficult to do sometimes and it’ll certainly help with the transition.

    I am praying for you as you work on this blog, your books, your many jobs, and your family. There is a lot on that plate, may God use it to glorify His kingdom!

  2. Revolution says:

    Thanks, bro. Right back at ya’.

Leave a Reply

